Dylan's Savage Worlds Nerdery

Geek life and custom content for Savage Worlds

Dominion is awesome!

I played my first two games of Dominion last night, and already plan on picking it up. It’s a fantastic game so far – looks like it has a lot of depth to it, and a number of expansions. I see now why I’ve been hearing about it for quite some time.

6 responses to “Dominion is awesome!

  1. shortymonster August 8, 2012 at 12:02 pm

    it is a grand old game indeed. I should know, I have the basic set and four of the expansions. By the way, it’s a little bit addictive…

  2. llanwyre August 8, 2012 at 4:04 pm

    I liked it quite a bit BEFORE I played it with people who were really good. When you have min-maxers who know the game well, though, and every single person’s turn takes 6-7 minutes straight because s/he can go through his/her WHOLE stack of cards on every single turn…well, it’s not so fun. The last time I played, the game took four hours. Now I feel kind of queasy when someone pulls it out. 😉

    • steeldraco August 9, 2012 at 7:17 am

      That does sound rough. Past a certain point, game mastery like that does cease to be fun, unfortunately, particularly when everybody isn’t at the same level of knowledge and interest. I can’t imagine that happening with the people I normally play board games with, though. Sorry you lost the fun in the game.

      I just played it with one other person; he had played with a small group before. We played the Intrigue set with two of the configurations that are recommended for starting players. The longest turns we had were me playing a bunch of pawns and trying to figure out what I wanted – Pawns are the ones that let you choose any two of +1 card, +1 action, +1 coin, or +1 buy.

      • llanwyre August 10, 2012 at 2:10 pm

        I have to admit it was my fault. I was playing with those people who are semi-famous on BGG because they have the set that they’ve put onto poker chips. It’s an INCREDIBLE set, and the poker chips are a great idea. I just should have known better than to jump in with people so dedicated. 😉

        ANY game has to be right for the group you’re in! Glad you’re having fun with it, though. I hope it catches on with your regular group.

Leave a Reply

