Dylan's Savage Worlds Nerdery

Geek life and custom content for Savage Worlds

Deadlands Noir Kickstarter

So Pinnacle has jumped in on the whole Kickstarter phenomenon with a new Deadlands setting, Deadlands Noir. Check out the Kickstarter page here.

Honestly, I can’t say I’m that enthused, as much as I love Deadlands. I can see the appeal of Deadlands + Raymond Chandler, but if I was in the mood for Raymond Chandler-esque, I’d probably just play Dresden Files – the actual time period doesn’t interest me much. Call of Cthulhu is already set around the same time and has a lot of the same feel. I don’t see what the Noir setting really brings to the table that Call of Cthulhu or Dresden Files doesn’t already have. The main setting is New Orleans, which I’ve used several times for Dresden Files games already, so I already have a version of the city in my head that feels like “mine”.

I’ll keep an eye on it as it comes closer, and very likely pick up a copy just to mine for ideas for the city if I ever run a DF game set in N’awlins again. I have faith in the writers, after all. The Pinnacle people put out good stuff.

One response to “Deadlands Noir Kickstarter

  1. soundtracktothevoid May 24, 2012 at 7:36 am

    I pointed a friend at it not too long ago. he’s a fan of Noir, and was the guy that introduced me to Deadlands so long ago. He made… disturbingly happy school-girl-like noises.

Leave a Reply

