Dylan's RPG and Nerdery Blog

Geek life and custom content for Pathfinder and Savage Worlds

Learning Warmachine

I picked up a new game a few months ago – Warmachine, by Privateer Press. Normally I’m not one for wargames, but a friend of mine was pretty excited about it, so I thought I’d try it, and I had a good time. I’ve been picking things up here and there for it for a while, and have now started to amass a reasonable little force, though it’s not really playing to the strengths of my faction very well.

I’m playing a faction called Khador, themed around the Russian military with a bit of Hammer horror thrown in. So far I’ve just been playing with Kommander Sorscha, their starting warcaster (the leaders of the game, spellcaster-generals), but I’ve picked up a few more (Karchev and the first two versions of Vlad Tepeczi). I played in my first tournament last night at Tabletop Games in Overland Park. Had a pretty good time, and went 2-1 (won against a Trollkin and Cryx player, and lost against a Legion of Everblight player). There’s a league starting that will have players at both Hometown Games in Lawrence and Tabletop in Kansas City, so I’d be able to get some games in with some regularity, which would be nice.

Painting is different – I’m finding that I enjoy the assembly and modification process more than I enjoy the painting. Still, I’m trying to do something a little different with my models – they look more like winter stormtroopers than the normal “red and bronze” color of the faction. I’ll post some pictures when I have some more things painted up.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 136 other followers

